Strawberry Mango Limonata, my way!

May 18, 2011 at 1:26 am Leave a comment

So about a month ago, we celebrated our daughter’s first birthday!  A Mother Goose-themed party, I had to have something for “Jack and Jill” to contribute to the party.  I didn’t want plain water and I didn’t want sparkling water.

What did I have in my stockpile…aha!  San Pelligrino Limonata!  Our Costco sells cases of the San Pelligrina Aranciata and Limonata together; I love Aranciata, but I’m not such a big fan of Limonata.  Too tart for me.  Maybe, just maybe, I could come up with a recipe for Limonata.

I ran an extensive search online for drinks using Limonata, but except for handful or so of alcoholic drinks, there really wasn’t anything out there.  But I kept reading about people wanting Strawberry Mango Limonata recipes…apparently, this is a very popular drink sold at The Olive Garden.

Well, I can’t vouch that my version is anywhere similar to the Olive Garden version (since I’ve never had it), but I like it (and so did our party guests, young and old), so I’m going to share the recipe here.  Here’s to summer!

Ingredients (will serve approximately 6-8 people):

  • 16 oz bag frozen strawberries, thawed
  • 16 oz bag frozen mangos, thawed
  • 1/2 to 1 cup sugar, depending on your preference
  • 6 (11.15 ounce) cans of chilled San Pelligrino Limonata (see note at the end for a substitution that works great!)

Directions:

  • In a large blender, blend the thawed fruit together.
  • If you are using one of the San Pelligrino substitutes below, stop here.
  • If you are using San Pelligrino Limonata: Stop the blender and add the sugar, a little at a time, tasting every now and then until the fruit is to your desired sweetness.  I like mine sweet enough to have as a topping for a dessert, but still tart enough to make a statement.
  • At this point, you can chill the fruit base for use within the next three days, or freeze into cubes for later use.
  • To assemble your drink, take a glass and half fill it with your fruit base.  If you prefer your drink lemony, use less fruit; fruitier, use more.
  • Carefully pour the Limonata into the glass, stirring gently until the fruit is dissipated throughout.  You will not use a whole can of Limonata unless you have a very large glass.
  • If you want to make the Limonata a little naughtier, add a shot of vodka.
  • Gather your friends around and enjoy this fruity, tart drink!

Substitute for Limonata:

  • Ingredients:
    • 7-Up or Sprite or other lemon-lime soda
    • 1 can of frozen lemonade concentrate (you’ll use 1 tbsp per serving)
  • Half-fill your glass with the fruit base.
  • Add 1 tbsp lemonade concentrate.
  • Top off with the 7-Up or Sprite and stir.
Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

DIY: Footed Baby Sleepers into Creepers/Rompers, Style 2! A Six-Word Memoir and “Profound Thought” (and recipes)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me


I'm Kim - "Minerva's Hand." Once a manager, teacher and marketing exec for non-profits, I now spend my days managing a household, teaching my daughter and crafting. Being a mom inspires me in so many ways! This blog was created with the hope of inspiring others.

Stay Connected

Recent Posts


