A Six-Word Memoir

August 6, 2011 at 8:50 pm Leave a comment

Joyful expeditions – baby on a bike.

So Wednesday, I picked up an iBert safe-T-bike seat for DD on Craigslist.  I couldn’t believe my luck!  I’d been toying with the idea of getting one for months, but no stores in town carry it.  When I called and asked for it, I even got read the riot-act by some of the stores who insisted that I get a bike trailer instead of a seat.  It came down to buying it on Amazon.com or waiting.  DH wanted to wait and get a Strider Balance Bike for next summer, but I believed that there was a need for both.

Well boy, am I glad I got this seat!  That same afternoon, I got DD a bike helmet (that cost almost as much as the discounted bike seat!), had the seat installed in five minutes, and we were off through the neighborhood.  When we got back from our test ride, DD insisted that we go out again.  And again.  And again.  We were out for over an hour!!!  And the whole time, she was giggling and babbling away.  When I finally called it a day, DD had the words for “helmet” and “biking” down-pat.  We went out Thursday; Friday, I had gotten smart and decided the best time to ride was right after breakfast, while the weather was still cool.  Today, we rode to the Farmer’s Market (not something I’ll repeat often, since we had to cross a four-lane avenue that connected two state highways AND one of those highways…a scary experience).  Each time we’ve gone biking, we’ve been out for over an hour.  The whole ride, DD talks.  Today’s conversation revolved around birds, the sky, biking, horses, goats, biking, water, market, helmets, biking, honey, doggy, and biking.  I think I’ve definitely gotten my money’s worth already!  If only I’d gotten this seat sooner, the extra baby-weight (and maybe more) I’ve been carrying around might be gone, too!

Well, personal benefits aside, this seat has been great.  DD sits right between my arms, yet I can see over her head.  Her seat fits perfectly on my bike, and doesn’t impede my pedaling.  I don’t have balance issues, since she sits up front and not on the back, which keeps the “center” forward.  I can talk to her, point out things of interest to her, and keep an eye on her.  It feels safe; it’s definitely much safer than the old-fashioned back-mounted baby seats.  And I think it’s more fun for DD and me than a bike trailer.

Besides, I’ve heard of kids getting mud flung into their faces riding in bike trailers, and that doesn’t sound fun to me.

Entry filed under: Review, Six-Word Memoirs. Tags: , , , , , .

Impromptu Building Blocks A Six-Word Memoir

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me


I'm Kim - "Minerva's Hand." Once a manager, teacher and marketing exec for non-profits, I now spend my days managing a household, teaching my daughter and crafting. Being a mom inspires me in so many ways! This blog was created with the hope of inspiring others.

Stay Connected

Recent Posts


