Planning for Christmas Already!

September 21, 2012 at 10:19 pm 1 comment

I know, I know…it’s early to be talking Christmas.  But I really have to start early!  This post is for you moms out there whose daughters have requested a doll for Christmas.  Specifically one of those Tolly Tots My First Disney Princess Dolls.  You know…like Merida with her bow and arrow.

Bet you can’t guess what DD asked for.  😛  Not only did she ask for the doll, but she also asked for me to make outfits for her doll.  For Christmas.  Problem is that most of the patterns out there are for 18″ dolls or for the 15″ baby dolls.  There’s nothing for 15″ toddler dolls.

So I did some math and some tinkering and worked up several outfits for these dolls.  In the coming year, my Etsy shop “A Petite Princess” will go live with ready-made outfits (reasonably priced and complete with hangers!) and $1 patterns.  The shop will be dedicated to the Tolly Tot toddler dolls AND the Tolly Tot princess baby dolls.  The goal is to have a soft-opening in March so that you can start building a modest wardrobe around Easter, when you know for sure that the dolls are going to be fairly permanent playmates.  😉

Keep following this blog, though, since I will be posting FREE TUTORIALS as well – the first post, scheduled for the end of February will be for a set of “mermaid” tails for the toddler dolls…because why doesn’t Ariel have a mermaid tail???

Progress?  In the past week, I’ve made a cotton dress, a flannel sleeping gown, and a pair of jersey capris.  At this rate, it’ll take me up until Christmas day to make a decent wardrobe for Merida and Mulan!  Lol.  *sigh*  The things we do for love.

And don’t forget to bookmark the Etsy shop’s profile for the official opening in March: http://www.etsy.com/shop/APetitePrincess!

Entry filed under: Mommy Ideas, Sewing, Tutorials. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Summer fun, now it’s begun! Happy New Ye…umm…Happy Year!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cul de Sac  |  September 22, 2012 at 9:20 am

    Wow! Good to read your blog ;)) your idea is fantastic… But i’ll be doing barbie clothes over here lol! Your outfits look so professional! I know S will be more than thrilled! You are such a good mom 🙂
    Hugs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me


I'm Kim - "Minerva's Hand." Once a manager, teacher and marketing exec for non-profits, I now spend my days managing a household, teaching my daughter and crafting. Being a mom inspires me in so many ways! This blog was created with the hope of inspiring others.

Stay Connected

Recent Posts


