Healthy Filled Easter Eggs – $.05 Each!

March 21, 2013 at 12:00 am 2 comments

Every year, we get invited to a big potluck one of my friends hosts.  There’s lots of people, food and chatting and a great big Easter egg hunt for the kiddos.  Really big.  It’s divided into two groups – kids 5 and under and kids over 6.  Seriously, when your 2-yr old manages to fill her entire basket with eggs, you know it’s a big hunt.  Lol.  Anyways, the host keeps boxes of plastic eggs in storage, and when Easter comes around, starts handing them out to families with kids.  Last year was our second year filling eggs…

…and it was expensive.  Mostly because I didn’t want to fill the eggs up with candy.  The first year was easy, since I had lots of leftover prizes from when I taught, so those got stuffed into eggs.  But last year, I ended up spending too much on little toys.  More than I would have spent if I had just bought a bag of candy.  Let me tell you, $1 here and there really starts to add up quickly when you’re filling Easter eggs.  And we only did three dozen.

This year, I still wanted to avoid the candy, but didn’t want to do the toys.  So Princess and I came up with a better way to fill the Easter Eggs.  And they’re gluten-free, free of artificial colorings, flavorings and preservatives.

We went to the bank.  Yep!  The BANK.  I got waaaaay too much in change; it’s ok…they’re still rolled and we can take ’em back.  We ended up using one $2 roll of nickels and four $.50 rolls of pennies for a grand total of $4.  I had a few dimes in my wallet, so I threw those in, too.  Then, we had some sheets of Easter stickers left over from our Lucky Bouquet craft.  So we put coins and stickers into our Easter eggs.  What preschooler doesn’t get excited about money and stickers???  And could you imagine how much cooler it could be if you had foreign currency like Canadian pennies and Italian lyra?

Could this be a choke hazard?  Probably.  But having done this egg hunt before, I know most parents (and older siblings looking to swipe their favorite candy) of kids this age sit with the kiddos while they open their Easter eggs, so few of these coins will find their way into mouths.  Most of these parents are also relieved to find something OTHER than candy in the eggs.  So use your judgment before deciding to fill eggs with change.  Plus, wouldn’t swallowing a Tootsie Roll or Jolly Rancher whole be worse than swallowing a penny?

 

Anyways, Princess did most of the filling, since I was busy cutting up the sheets of stickers.  For a girl who’s not quite three, she’s pretty efficient.  We finished filling up over 100 eggs in a little over 1/2 hour.  Princess was instructed to put 2-4 pennies OR 1 nickel into each egg with a sticker.  She did really well up until the last 10 minutes, when she started to get a little overexcited about the eggs and the idea of hunting them herself…I saw her sneaking $.13 into one egg.  But it’s all good.  Come to think of it…that may have been one of the eggs she snuck back into the bedroom and emptied into her piggy bank.  Lol.

So $4 in change (plus a little bit more) + leftovers from a $1 book of stickers = $5 for over 100 eggs (we actually filled up 114).  Less than a nickel per egg!  Yay!  I could have been really cheap and stuck with one penny per egg (boo hiss!) or been generous and put in dimes and quarters (do preschoolers care for dimes?), but I figured if Princess was happy with the eggs, then it was probably about right.  Guess we’ll be doing this for a few more years.  At least until change isn’t cool anymore and we have to upgrade to quarters and dollars.  Then I’ll have to come up with something else.  😉

Entry filed under: Mommy Ideas. Tags: , , .

Green Toys Build-a-Bouquet: A Review

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cul de Sac  |  March 24, 2013 at 6:15 am

    Ah, forget danadian 1cent, they are not making them anymore… And the stores don’t accept them now 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Minerva's Hand  |  March 24, 2013 at 9:38 am

      But they’re still fun to collect! Just like the coins from Europe can’t be used anymore since they switched to the euro…but I still have tons of them. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me


I'm Kim - "Minerva's Hand." Once a manager, teacher and marketing exec for non-profits, I now spend my days managing a household, teaching my daughter and crafting. Being a mom inspires me in so many ways! This blog was created with the hope of inspiring others.

Stay Connected

Recent Posts


